Common Merganser


The common merganser is a large duck with long, slim neck and thick-based, hooked, red bill. White breast and sides, often tinged with pink, and lack of crest distinguish male for red-breasted merganser. Female’s bright chestnut, crested head and neck contrast sharply with white chin, white breast.

Photo by Carl Moore

The female shown here was found in Zion National Park tackling the Virgin river. This adds to my collection of birds photographed and named. I never thought I would be a bird watcher, but I have found this to be a challenging hobby. Birds are camera shy, then trying to name them after getting good photos can be even more challenging sometimes. However it gets me out in the house and into the wild!

2 thoughts on “Common Merganser

  1. I havenít checked in here for some time as I thought it was obtaining boring, but the last few posts are fantastic quality so I guess Iíll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend

Leave a Reply

