New Year


It is that time of year when one comes to a close and we begin the next. Goodbye 2014, you hold lots of memories, some good, some bad. But through those experiences that 2014 gave to us, we are better prepared for 2015.
Time for the new year resolutions! Every year we make resolutions, just to usually go a few days before we start breaking those promises to ourselves. Why? Is it our human nature to break down so easily?

This past year was a year of traveling for me, driving across the country 3 times in the course of 2014 proved there are adventures to be had. I started out along the north entrance into Yellowstone National Park  January-March. A winter wonderland for any extreme outdoorsman, experiencing temperatures as low as -28°F.

Then making a run into California through the Redwoods and down the Pacific Coast.

Then Proceeding to the Southwest Desert into Las Vegas before going back to Montana. A month later I need to do that trip again, just because work was not all that busy in Montana. While on this trip I get a phone call that one of my aunts is dying. A true tragedy in my family. Without the finances to cross I start making my across the country, working as I go. As I got the call that she had passed, I had to pull over and let out a few emotions.

This litter critter helped me out a lot in that moment.

And I make my way across the country to Alabama. After that point I had to find a way to finance my way back to traveling all the way down to Ft. Lauderdale and up the east coast into Vermont before heading back home to Montana.

Just to return into Montana finding out that my housing was not as secure as I was lead to believe. A big slap in the face of life. I was then forced to continue this traveling through California and Nevada as this is where my biggest client base is located along with being licensed in the 3 states of Nevada, California and Montana, I needed to continue providing my services in these states. However I did dropped Montana off because of distance, and housing issues, and low client numbers. I circle down the California Coast and over to Las Vegas where I first started my business a few times.

The second trip across the country was to work at Pennsic, which is a place in Pennsylvania. A place I love, with awesome people who attend that event. Two weeks of medieval living, should I say more?

Then I have two-week to get to Black Rock City, NV where I will be spending another two weeks working. Which on Day 3 after arriving on this 14 day venture, I slip while coming out of the showers. I did what I know to do, ignore the pain, push through the pain, continuing to work through the pain because I did not come here and not bring my gift to this community. I did not realize until months later that my pelvis was fractured .

With nowhere to go I continue to work while traveling through California and Nevada. The holidays are approaching and I failed to go home in 2013 so I began my third route across this great nation.  In an effort to get into and through the north-east states before winter really sets in. I failed, sliding over frozen bridges, digging myself out of snow, getting to my clients no matter the risk.

I begin the journey south from New York, as I get another phone call announcing the death of another family member, an uncle this time. Making my self back down into Alabama without haste, where I spend the month with my mother. Knowing that death is a guarantee for each of us, I stride to make every day as enjoyable as can be, in myself and in others continuing to push through the pain of what I now find out is a broken pelvis.

Now being in Baton Rouge on New Years in route back towards Las Vegas and the California coast, I just know I cannot continue bringing the joy I find in life to the people I love with my pelvis being broken. There are just too many questions and not enough answers. But that was an 800 word recap of my year and the time for resolutions has now come, because the New Year is here.

Mine is “Don’t give up”. Make every second count. I have always loved bringing the outdoors to you, previously I brought it through the energy of my work, now it seems like it can only be through photography. In this new year I will stride at building a place where you will have the options of placing any of my photos on a wall in your home.

Leave a Reply

